What the Heart Remembers

Front Cover
Penguin, Sep 4, 2012 - Fiction - 384 pages
Whispers of the past…

When young Eden Harrison receives a heart transplant from an unknown donor, her seemingly charmed life falls apart. Haunted by dreams of people and places she doesn’t recognize, Eden is convinced that her new heart carries the memories of its original owner. Eden leaves her old life behind as she is mysteriously drawn to the city of San Diego.

Whispers of the mind…

There, Eden becomes fast friends with Darcy, a young woman recently widowed by Peter, her wealthy, much older husband. But Darcy is unsettled by her inability to mourn, and more unsettled by recurring thoughts of Adam, a young musician she was having an affair with--who has suddenly vanished.

Whispers of the heart…

Yet, the more Eden learns about Darcy, the more she realizes that all is not as it seems, and she begins to suspect foul play behind Peter's and Adam’s fates. As the tension around them escalates, Eden’s mysterious dreams become more and more frequent. Can Eden listen to what her heart is trying to tell her before it is silenced forever?

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Beamis12 - LibraryThing

Interesting mix in this story, heart transplant and soul identification with a little suspense, mystery on the side. Definitely held my interest, something a little different but very readable. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookworm_naida - LibraryThing

What the Heart Remembers is deliciously atmospheric. I was drawn in from the start and instantly immersed myself in this world of secrets, betrayals, broken hearts and a taste of the supernatural ... Read full review


Part1 Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter4 Chapter 5
Chapter 6
Chapter 7
Part2 Chapter 8
Chapter 14
Chapter 15
Chapter 16
Chapter 17
Chapter 18
Chapter 19
Chapter 20
Chapter 21

Chapter 9
Chapter 10
Chapter 11
Chapter 12
Chapter 13
Part 3
Chapter 22
Chapter 23
About the Author

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Debra Ginsberg is the author of Waiting, Raising Blaze, and About My Sisters, as well as the novels Blind Submission; The Grift, a New York Times Notable Book and winner of the the 2009 SCIBA T. Jefferson Parkers Mystery Award; and The Neighbors Are Watching, an Indie Next Great Reads pick.

Bibliographic information