Where Are the Children?

Front Cover
Buccaneer Books, 1975 - Fiction - 192 pages
Here is the novel that established Clark as one of today's most phenomenally successful authors. After a terrible marriage and the tragic deaths of her two children, Nancy changes her name, hair, and residence and finally finds peace--until the nightmare begins again.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Twink - www.librarything.com

Where Are The Children by Mary Higgins Clark was originally released in 1975. It is newly released as an audio book. Clark has penned a new introduction to the book. She names Where Are the Children ... Read full review

Enjoyable Read

User Review  - Vicki E. - Overstock.com

I love her books she always has a good twist. This book starts out a little slow but is definitely worth finishing. It is a quick read and would be a good beach or vacation book. Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1975)

Mary Higgins Clark was born in the Bronx, New York on December 24, 1927. After graduating from high school and before she got married, she worked as a secretary, a copy editor, and an airline stewardess. She supplemented the family's income by writing short stories. After her husband died in 1964, leaving her with five children, she worked for many years writing four-minute radio scripts before turning to novels. Her debut novel, Aspire to the Heavens, which is a fictionalized account of the life of George Washington, did not sell well. She decided to focus on writing mystery/suspense novels and in 1975 Where Are the Children? was published. She received a B.A. in philosophy from Fordham University in 1979. Her other works include While My Pretty One Sleeps, Let Me Call You Sweetheart, Moonlight Becomes You, Pretend You Don't See Her, No Place Like Home, and The Lost Years. She is also co-author, with her daughter Carol Higgins Clark, of Deck the Halls, He Sees You When You're Sleeping, and The Christmas Thief. She received numerous honors including the Grand Prix de Literature of France (1980), the Horatio Alger Award (1997), the Gold Medal of Honor from the American-Irish Historical Society, and the Spirit of Achievement Award from Albert Einstein College of Medicine of Yeshiva University. In 2014, she made The New York Times Best Seller List with her title The Cinderella Murder.

Bibliographic information