Who's Sorry Now?

Front Cover
Vintage, 2003 - Adultery - 325 pages
0 Reviews
Marvin Kreitman, the luggage baron of South London, lives for sex. Or at least he lives for women. At present he loves four women - his mother, his wife Hazel, and his two daughters - and is in love with five more. Charlie Merriweather, on the other hand, nice Charlie, loves just the one woman, also called Charlie, the wife with whom he has been writing children's books and having nice sex for twenty years. Once a week the two friends meet for a Chinese lunch, contriving never quite to have the conversation they would like to have - about fidelity and womanising, and which makes you happier. Until today. It is Charlie who takes the dangerous step of asking for a piece of Marvin's disordered life, but what follows embroils them all, the wives no less than the husbands. And none of them will ever be the same again.

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

Another middle-age-angst-meets-sex-romp comedy from Jacobson (Man Booker Prize winner The Finkler Question, 2010, etc.), that great chronicler of modern rakery.Originally published in Britain in 2002 ... Read full review

Who's Sorry Now?

User Review  - Joanna Burkhardt - Book Verdict

Charlie Merriweather has been married to the same woman, also named Charlie, for 20 years; together they write a successful children's book series. Feeling restless and trapped and looking for a no ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Howard Jacobson was born in Manchester in 1942 and grew up in a poor, Jewish area of the city. He was educated at Cambridge University and shortly after graduating he left England and travelled to Australia where he lectured at the University of Sydney for three years. On returning to England, Howard took a post at Selwyn College, Cambridge. During the 1970s he taught English at Wolverhampton Polytechnic in the West Midlands, an experience which provided the material for his first novel, Coming From Behind (1983). Subsequent novels include Peeping Tom (1984), a comedy of sexual jealousy satirising literary biography; The Very Model of a Man (1992), a re-working of the Cain and Abel myth; No More Mister Nice Guy (1998), the story of television critic Frank Ritz's mid-life crisis; and The Mighty Walzer (1999), set in the Jewish community in Manchester during the 1950s, which won the Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize for comic writing and the "Jewish Quarterly" Literary Prize for Fiction in 2000.
Howard Jacobson's latest novel, Who's Sorry Now, was published in 2002 and was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

Bibliographic information