Who's who of Pulitzer Prize Winners

Front Cover
Elizabeth A. Brennan, Elizabeth C. Clarage
Oryx Press, 1999 - Biography & Autobiography - 666 pages

Established in 1917 by publisher Joseph Pulitzer, the Pulitzer Prize is now awarded in 21 categories, including investigative reporting, news photography, drama, poetry, music, and others. It continues to be the most coveted honor in journalism. Yet while many publications have been written on the topic of the Pulitzer Prizes, none has provided basic factual information on all of the winners. This new reference tool profiles each of the more than 1,100 individuals who have received this honor from 1917 through 1998. Entries include the winner's name, year and category for the Pulitzer Prize(s) won, birthdate, family, education, career summary, other awards won, list of selected works, and where to locate additional information. Several entries also include photos of the winner.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Who's Who of Pulitzer Prize Winners:

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The main reference question this book answers--"Who won the Pulitzer Prize for X in year Y?"--can now be answered by using the Pulitzer web site at (www.pulitzer.org). The web site is superior to the ... Read full review


Beat Reporting
Breaking News Reporting

17 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1999)

ELIZABETH A. BRENNAN is currently a freelance information specialist.ELIZABETH C. CLARAGE is assistant professor of library administration at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Bibliographic information