Wilfred Thesiger: The Life of the Great Explorer

Front Cover
HarperCollins Publishers, Jun 24, 2010 - Biography & Autobiography - 544 pages
0 Reviews

Wilfred Thesiger, the last of the great gentlemen explorer-adventurers, became a legend in his own lifetime. This authorised biography by a longstanding friend and associate delves into his little-known character and motivations, as well as recounting the details of his extraordinary life.

Wilfred Thesiger, the great explorer-adventurer and author of ‘Arabian Sands’ and ‘The Marsh Arabs’, and one work of autobiography ‘The Life of my Choice’, became a legend in his own lifetime, but his character and motivations have remained an intriguing enigma.

In this authorised biography – written with Thesiger’s support before he died in 2003 and with unique access to the rich Thesiger archive – Alexander Maitland investigates this fascinating figure’s family influences, his wartime experiences, his philosophy as a hunter and conservationist, his writing and photography, his friendships with Arabs and Africans amongst whom he lived, and his now-acknowledged homosexuality.

What people are saying - Write a review

WILFRED THESIGER: The Life of the Great Explorer

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

An eccentric explorer in the tradition of T.E. Lawrence, Wilfred Thesiger (1910-2003) lived with tribal warriors in Africa, traveled on camel through the Arabian desert and journeyed to the hitherto ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Alexander Maitland was a close friend of Thesiger for forty years. He edited Thesiger’s anthology, ‘My Life and Travels’ (2002) and helped produce Thesiger’s ‘My Kenya Days’, ‘The Danakil Diary’, ‘Among the Mountains’ and ‘A Vanished World’. He is the author of biographies of Freya Stark and John Hanning Speke, and most recently of ‘Wilfred Thesiger: A Life in Pictures’.

Bibliographic information