Year's Best SF 2

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Mar 17, 2009 - Fiction - 464 pages
0 Reviews
Building on the unprecedented success of last season's Year's Best, award-winning editor David G. Hartwell has once again scoured the magazines and anthologies to bring together the very best of today's edgy, audacious, and innovative SF. Here are machines that dream and stars that sing; tales from notable pros and heretofore unknowns;wondrously diverse stories that share the sense of wonder that is the mark of great science fiction. "

Includes stories by:

Gregory Benford, Terry Bisson, James Patrick Kelly, Damon Knight, Joanna Russ, Bruce Sterling, Connie Willis, and many others!


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


After a Lean Winter
In the Upper Room
Out of the Mouths
Breakaway Backdown
Tobacco Words
The Spear of the Sun
Counting Cats in Zanzibar
Bicycle Repairman
Red Sonja and Lessingham in Dreamland
Doblins Lecture
The Bride of Elvis
Forget Luck
Nonstop to Portales

The House of Mourning
Life Edit
First Tuesday
About the Editor
Edited by David G Hartwell Kathryn Cramer

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

David G. Hartwell is a senior editor of Tor/Forge Books. His doctorate is in Comparative Medieval Literature. He is the proprietor of Dragon Press, publisher and bookseller, which publishes The New York Review of Science Fiction, and the president of David G. Hartwell, Inc. He is the author of Age of Wonders and the editor of many anthologies, including The Dark Descent, The World Treasury of Science Fiction, The Hard SF Renaissance, The Space Opera Renaissance, and a number of Christmas anthologies, among others. Recently he co-edited his fifteenth annual paperback volume of Year's Best SF, and co-edited the ninth Year's Best Fantasy. John Updike, reviewing The World Treasury of Science Fiction in The New Yorker, characterized him as a "loving expert." He is on the board of the IAFA, is co-chairman of the board of the World Fantasy Convention, and an administrator of the Philip K. Dick Award. He has won the Eaton Award, the World Fantasy Award, and has been nominated for the Hugo Award forty times to date, winning as Best Editor in 2006, 2008, and 2009.

Bibliographic information