Year's Best SF 3

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Mar 17, 2009 - Fiction - 464 pages
0 Reviews
Enjoy today's most awesome and innovative science fiction, chosen by acclaimed editor David G. Hartwell from the best short fiction published over the last year.

Like its two distinguished processors, Year's Best SF 3 is a cybercopia of astonishing stories from familiar favorites and rising stars, all calculated to blow your mind, scorch your, senses, erase your inhibitions, and reinitialize your intelligence.

With stories from:

Gregory Benford, Terry Bisson, Greg Egan, William Gibson, Nancy Kress, Robert Silverberg, Gene Wolfe and more...


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Petting Zoo
The Wisdom of Old Earth
The Firefly Tree
Thirteen Views of a Cardboard City
The Nostalginauts
Guest Law
The Voice
Always True to Thee in My Fashion
Canary Land
Universal Emulators
Fair Verona
Great Western
The Mendelian Lamp Case
Kiss Me

An Office Romance
Itsy Bitsy Spider
Beauty in the Night
The Pipes of Pan
London Bone
About the Editor
Edited by David G Hartwell

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

David G. Hartwell is a senior editor of Tor/Forge Books. His doctorate is in Comparative Medieval Literature. He is the proprietor of Dragon Press, publisher and bookseller, which publishes The New York Review of Science Fiction, and the president of David G. Hartwell, Inc. He is the author of Age of Wonders and the editor of many anthologies, including The Dark Descent, The World Treasury of Science Fiction, The Hard SF Renaissance, The Space Opera Renaissance, and a number of Christmas anthologies, among others. Recently he co-edited his fifteenth annual paperback volume of Year's Best SF, and co-edited the ninth Year's Best Fantasy. John Updike, reviewing The World Treasury of Science Fiction in The New Yorker, characterized him as a "loving expert." He is on the board of the IAFA, is co-chairman of the board of the World Fantasy Convention, and an administrator of the Philip K. Dick Award. He has won the Eaton Award, the World Fantasy Award, and has been nominated for the Hugo Award forty times to date, winning as Best Editor in 2006, 2008, and 2009.

Bibliographic information