Year's Best SF 5

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 13, 2009 - Fiction - 512 pages
0 Reviews
Experience New Realms

Acclaimed editor and anthologist David G. Hartwell returns with this fifth annual collection of the year's most imaginative, entertaining, and mind-expanding science fiction.

Here are works from some of today's most acclaimed authors, as well as visionary new talents, that will introduce you to new ideas, offer unusual perspectives, and take you to places beyond your wildest imaginings.Contributors to The Year's Best SF 5 include:

Brian Aldiss
Stephen Baxter
Michael Bishop
Terry Bisson
Greg Egan
Robert Reed
Kim Stanley Robinson
Hiroe Suga
Michael Swanwick
Gene Wolfe
and many more...

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Evolution Never Sleeps
Sexual Dimorphism
Game of the Century
Secrets of the Alien Reliquary
Kinds of Strangers
Visit the Sins
An Apollo Asteroid
100 Candles
Democritus Violin
Fossil Games
Ashes and Tombstones
Ancient Engines

Border Guards
Written in Blood
Has Anybody Seen Junie Moon?
The Blue Planet
Rosetta Stone
Freckled Figure
The Queen of Erewhon
About the Editor
Edited by David G Hartwell

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

David G. Hartwell is a senior editor of Tor/Forge Books. His doctorate is in Comparative Medieval Literature. He is the proprietor of Dragon Press, publisher and bookseller, which publishes The New York Review of Science Fiction, and the president of David G. Hartwell, Inc. He is the author of Age of Wonders and the editor of many anthologies, including The Dark Descent, The World Treasury of Science Fiction, The Hard SF Renaissance, The Space Opera Renaissance, and a number of Christmas anthologies, among others. Recently he co-edited his fifteenth annual paperback volume of Year's Best SF, and co-edited the ninth Year's Best Fantasy. John Updike, reviewing The World Treasury of Science Fiction in The New Yorker, characterized him as a "loving expert." He is on the board of the IAFA, is co-chairman of the board of the World Fantasy Convention, and an administrator of the Philip K. Dick Award. He has won the Eaton Award, the World Fantasy Award, and has been nominated for the Hugo Award forty times to date, winning as Best Editor in 2006, 2008, and 2009.

Bibliographic information