Yesterday's Friends: Romance, jealousy and an undying love fill an engrossing family saga

Front Cover
Headline, Feb 4, 2010 - Fiction - 294 pages
1 Review

One night. One decision. A lifetime of consequences.

Yesterday's Friends is a thrilling saga of love, sacrifice and hope, in which Pam Evans once again creates a truly captivating tale of life in 1950s London. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Cathy Sharp.

One blissful night of romance at an end-of-term party in the summer of 1951 changed the course of Ruth Brooks' life for ever. The brightest girl in her class, Ruth had planned to attend college but the realisation that she was pregnant forced her to abandon all hopes of a career. Now, five years later, she still lives in Shepherd's Bush with her parents, twin brothers and daughter, Jenny. Conscious of a need to make ends meet, Ruth works as a shop assistant at the local chemist while her mother looks after Jenny. Ruth's best friend Kitty bitterly resents what has happened, but never once does Ruth regret the outcome of that magical night. And the joy that Jenny brings is ample reward for the sacrifices she has made. Ruth meets someone new and tries to put the past behind her, but yesterday's friends have an uncanny way of catching up with her, and when Jenny's father turns up unexpectedly, Ruth's world is thrown into confusion once again...

What Amazon readers are saying about Yesterday's Friends:

'Loved the story, couldn't wait to get to the end...!'

'Very good in all aspects of the story. Would recommend it for easy reading. Covers a lot of life's realities and how to deal with them'

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - SueinCyprus - LibraryThing

A gentle London saga, revolving around a girl who dreams of university but ends up working in a pharmacy. A pleasant read, believable for the most part, although the heroine's thug-like brothers are rather caricatured. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Pam Evans was born and brought up in Ealing, London. She now lives in Surrey, near to her family and five beautiful grandchildren. For more information about Pam and her novels visit www.pamevansbooks.com.

Bibliographic information