The Yukon Queen (House of Winslow Book #17)

Front Cover
Baker Books, Nov 1, 2005 - Fiction - 288 pages
1 Review
His Was a Blinding Ambition for Riches, and He Was Serena's Only Hope of Escape.Late in 1896, Cassidy Winslow leaves his family's ranch in Wyoming to pursue his own fortunes but is hardly prepared for life in New York. He hates his job and tires of city life, but falls in love with a rich young woman who treats him like an interesting toy. She finally breaks his heart, and Cass heads for the West Coast with the determination that he'll do anything to get rich.When news comes to Seattle of the gold strike in the Klondike, all that holds Cass back is his debt of care to a man named Fletcher Stevens. The dying man's offer of money to fund Cassidy's trip to the gold fields of the Yukon is conditioned by a promise that Cass will take the man's daughter with him to share what gold they can find. Cass agrees, and when Stevens dies, he goes to tell the daughter the news.Serena Stevens had been placed in a convent by her father after her mother's death, and though she hates it there, she has little choice. When Cass comes and tells her of her father's offer, she can't be talked out of going, and so the adventure begins.But the Klondike Is a Cold, hard World Where Death Is Only a Bullet Away!

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - carolynsuarez - LibraryThing

new piece of history for me. enjoyed it very much Read full review


PART ONE Gold Fever
A Gathering of Winslows
Out of the Past
New York
An Alley in Seattle
Gold Fever
The Promise
Ill Go With You
Angel in a Red Coat
The Sign of Jonas
Trek Over Chilkoot Pass
Golds Not Worth Dying For
Down the Yukon
Gold Camp
A Job for Serena

PART TWO Skagway
The Willamette
Cass Makes an Enemy
A Touch of Jealousy

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2005)

Gilbert Morris spent ten years as a pastor before becoming Professor of English at Ouachita Baptist University in Arkansas and earning a Ph.D. at the University of Arkansas. During the summers of 1984 and 1985, he did postgraduate work at the University of London. A prolific writer, he has had over 25 scholarly articles and 200 poems published in various periodicals, and over the past years has had more than 180 novels published, including THE HOUSE OF WINLSOW series, LIONS OF JUDAH series and CHENEY DUVALL, M.D. His family includes three grown children, and he and his wife live in Alabama.

Bibliographic information