A Pilgrimage to Death

Front Cover
Sidecar Press, LLC, Aug 14, 2018 - Fiction - 260 pages
4 Reviews

When Cici discovers a body in the forest, she’s shocked to realize the victim’s wounds are identical to the ones that killed her sister a year ago. Now she’s embroiled in the takedown of a massive criminal operation, and the stakes couldn’t be higher… 

“A wholly absorbing gumshoe tale elevated by an extraordinary detective” (Kirkus Reviews starred review).

"Vivid, alluring, and heart-wrenching, Alexa Padgett's A Pilgrimage to Death is every reason I love mystery. A breathtaking tale."—Darynda Jones, NY Times Bestselling Author

Someone murdered her sister. And shot her dog. The killer won't stop until she's dead, too.

Cici's day starts when she finds a dead body while hiking in the Santa Fe National Forest. The situation deteriorates when she discovers the victim bears similar stab wounds to those that ended her twin sister's life a year ago.

Then, her identical twin sister infiltrates her dreams. 

All of a sudden, Cici and her dogs must dodge arrows, bullets, and even a demon truck—all while she grapples with the knowledge that her sister was on the trail of a deep-rooted criminal operation. Worse, her twin's death was much more sinister than a random act of violence.

Now, as she follows the clues her sister drops in her dreams, the criminals want Cici out of the way. Permanently.

A Pilgrimage to Death is a high-octane thriller. Fans of Ruth Ware, J.D. Robb, and Angela Marsons will love Alexa's Padgett's new edge-of-your-seat novel.

Scroll up and one-click today to start this fast-paced mystery!

"A Pilgrimage to Death was an edge-of-my-seat thrill ride that kept me guessing all the way through. Alexa Padgett weaves an intricate and enthralling tale, with relationships that run deep, and mystery that does the same."—Allyson Lindt, USA Bestseller

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RobynReo - www.librarything.com

Cecilia Gurule, CiCi to most, returns home to Santa Fe upon quitting as the associate reverend from a large, wealthy church outside Boston after her sister, Anna Carmen’s murder over a year ago. She ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Reviewed by Susan Sewell for Readers' Favorite
There are no leads in the murder of a well-liked Santa Fe school teacher and the killer still roams free to kill again in the suspenseful murder
mystery, A Pilgrimage to Death (A Reverend Cici Gurule Mystery Book 1) by Alexa Padgett. Since Reverend Cici Gurule's identical twin sister, Anna Carmen, was murdered a little over a year ago, Cici left her position in a Boston church and took charge of a parish in her hometown of Santa Fe. Attempting to move past Anna Carmen's death, Cici has been trying to lead a normal life by living one day at a time. Hiking in the nearby forest is one of the ways she uses to cope with her pain. While climbing the trail, Cici is surprised to feel Anna Carmen's presence. The surprise immediately turns to shock with the subsequent discovery of a corpse. The condition of the man's body is reminiscent of Anna Carmen's untimely demise. With the occurrence of this new homicide, Cici now finds herself in the middle of a dangerous conspiracy that has ties to her twin. Without any clues as to why Anna Carmen was killed, the reason for her death remains a mystery. What had Anna Carmen been doing that reaches beyond the grave and endangers those she left behind?
The "voice" of the dead, guiding the heroine in her search for the truth, is an intriguing paranormal aspect of the brilliant sleuth murder mystery, A Pilgrimage to Death by Alexa Padgett. I love a good murder mystery, especially if the protagonist is a little bit different. With Cici being a motorcycle-riding, beer-drinking reverend who has medium-like connections with her twin, this whodunit definitely fits the criteria for being unique. It is a thrilling cozy mystery filled with drama, suspense, and murder; all of which held me spellbound until the exciting finale. There is enough action, blood, and death in this "unputdownable" book to satisfy die-hard mystery fans without being offensive to those of a more sensitive nature. A Pilgrimage to Death is an enticing springboard for a spectacular sleuth series. I highly recommend it to those who love unusual amateur detectives with a "never-give-up" attitude and a little far-fetched help from the Otherside.
 

Selected pages

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2018)

 With a degree in international marketing and a varied career path that includes content management for a web firm, marketing direction for a high-profile sports agency, and a two-year stint with a renowned literary agency, award-winning author Alexa Padgett has returned to her first love: writing fiction.

Alexa spent a good part of her youth traveling. From Budapest to Belize, Calgary to Coober Pedy, she soaked in the myriad smells, sounds, and feels of these gorgeous places, wishing she could live in them all—at least for a while. And she does in her books.

She lives in New Mexico with her husband, children, and Great Pyrenees pup, Ash. When not writing, schlepping, or volunteering, she can be found in her tiny kitchen, channeling her inner Barefoot Contessa.