Called On

Front Cover
Quid Pro Books, Sep 18, 2015 - Fiction - 260 pages
0 Reviews

Libby Behl and Connie Shun are both at Warren Law because they want to make the world better. First-year student Libby’s got a lot to learn about law—not to mention love, long nights, and low-grade coffee. Through a difficult year, her professor Connie starts to question what she knows about how law—and justice—work. Witty and insightful, Called On is an insider’s peek into the struggles of learning law and the satisfaction of finding a new path in life.

“In Called On, Lisa McElroy deftly chronicles the stories of law professor Connie Shun and first year law student Libby Behl, each of whom is trying to move past tragedy and forge a new path for herself. The intersection of their lives is both humorous and heartbreaking. In this thoughtful and thought-provoking commentary on life, love, and the law, McElroy demonstrates the rare gift to simultaneously entertain, educate, uplift, and inspire.” — Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Kommandant’s Girl

“Lisa McElroy perfectly captures the pressures, challenges, and triumphs of both teaching and studying the law. Filled with big, memorable personalities, Called On is an utterly charming depiction of the 1L experience.” — Alafair Burke, New York Times bestselling author of The Ex

“Lisa McElroy nails law school—from first-day jitters to gunners and back-benchers—in a funny, perceptive, and poignant (but never predictable) first novel. Grab a Diet Coke and a handful of M&Ms and settle in; once you start reading, you won't want to stop.” — Amy Howe, co-founder & editor, SCOTUSblog 

“This remarkable book showcases all the traits that make Lisa McElroy such an amazing teacher: a deep understanding of legal issues, a superb ability to connect them to the real world, and a wry, compassionate understanding of her fellow humans in all their flawed splendor. Plus, she can flat-out tell a story. If you never made it to law school—and even if you never wanted to—don’t miss the chance to get Called On.” — Kermit Roosevelt, bestselling author of Allegiance and In the Shadow of the Law 

“If you’re thinking of going to law school, read this book. If you never miss The Good Wife, read this book. If you’re looking for a novel that’s smartly observed and filled with female characters who jump off the page, read Called On—twice as real as Legally Blonde but just as much fun.” Sally Koslow, author of The Widow Waltz 

“Lisa McElroy has provided us with a fresh and modern take on life in law school. The story is told through the eyes of an idealist, who enters law school with the best of intentions only to find that law can be as messy as love. This book is a must read for anyone thinking about taking the plunge into law school.” — Shon Hopwood, author of Law Man

Called On is Legally Blonde—kicked up a notch. This hilarious first novel follows the heroine through the first year of law school and her encounters with law, justice, first love, and loss. Set aside a rainy weekend to devour this fun read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner and Elin Hildenbrand.” — Paula Froelich, Yahoo Travel Editor-in Chief and host of A Broad Abroad; New York Times bestselling author of Mercury in Retrograde and former deputy editor of the New York Post’s “Page Six”

“I didn't go to law school, but author Lisa McElroy did, and that's a great thing for readers of fiction. McElroy uses her personal experience as both a law student and law professor to create a world of high stakes studies, complex personal relationships, and meaningful discussions of themes like liberty and justice. Called On is a complete first novel, expertly conceived and skillfully written. Memorable, vivid, and true—the story of two women, one student and one prof, who find themselves in the law.” — Lian Dolan, bestselling author of Helen of Pasadena and Elizabeth the First Wife 

Called On may be this generation’s One L, narrating the modern law school experience with all its stress, cut-throat competitiveness, inflated egos, flaws, and triumphs. Early on, the main character observes, ‘From what I hear, law school is full of surprises.’ Author Lisa McElroy turns that into an understatement, with plot twists that make Called On a true page-turner. Anyone who has been to law school, teaches there, or knows lawyers will instantly recognize one or more of McElroy’s vivid characters.” — Tony Mauro, Supreme Court Correspondent for The National Law Journal

 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

CHAPTER
CHAPTER 11
EPILOGUE
AFTERWORD
ACKNOWLEDGMENTS Table of Contents
ABOUT THE AUTHOR AN INTERVIEW WITH LISA MCELROY
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2015)

Lisa McElroy is an associate professor of law at Drexel University. Her writing has been featured in the New York Times, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, Redbook, and many other publications. A long-time law teacher, she is also the author of eleven children’s books. She lives with her family in the Philadelphia suburbs.

Bibliographic information