The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys who Fought the Great War and Invented America's Airpower

Front Cover
PublicAffairs, 2006 - History - 313 pages
1 Review
The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags Of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - NewsieQ - LibraryThing

Although American tried to remain neutral in the years before World War I, she was forced to act in 1918. But in 1916, a group of Yale students, young men who wanted their country to be prepared for ... Read full review

The Millionaire's Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys who Fought the Great War and Invented American Airpower

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Freelance writer and Yale alumnus Wortman tells the story of the Yale Flying Club, a group of wealthy young Yale students whose interest in flying became the basis for one of the first air corps ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2006)

Marc Wortman is an award-winning freelance writer whose work has appeared in numerous national magazines. He was a senior editor of the Yale Alumni Magazine, where the story of the Yale unit was originally published in the September/October 2003 issue. He also taught literature and writing at Princeton University and in a college program for inmates at Rahway State Prison in New Jersey. He lives in New Haven with his wife and daughter.

Bibliographic information