World Without End

Front Cover
New American Library, 2008 - Fiction - 1014 pages
12 Reviews
In 1989 Ken Follett astonished the literary world with The Pillars of the Earth, a sweeping epic novel set in twelfth-century England centered on the building of a cathedral and many of the hundreds of lives it affected. Critics were overwhelmed—“it will hold you, fascinate you, surround you” (Chicago Tribune)—and readers everywhere hoped for a sequel.

World Without End takes place in the same town of Kingsbridge, two centuries after the townspeople finished building the exquisite Gothic cathedral that was at the heart of The Pillars of the Earth. The cathedral and the priory are again at the center of a web of love and hate, greed and pride, ambition and revenge, but this sequel stands on its own. This time the men and women of an extraordinary cast of characters find themselves at a crossroad of new ideas— about medicine, commerce, architecture, and justice. In a world where proponents of the old ways fiercely battle those with progressive minds, the intrigue and tension quickly reach a boiling point against the devastating backdrop of the greatest natural disaster ever to strike the human race—the Black Death.

Three years in the writing, and nearly eighteen years since its predecessor, World Without End breathes new life into the epic historical novel and once again shows that Ken Follett is a masterful author writing at the top of his craft.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Super fast tiny print

User Review  - beckyhomecy -

This book came in a 2 inch thick pocketsize paperback instead of the 10 inch paperback I was expecting. I just cant read the print even with glasses. My fault for not checking. Read full review

Great Read!!!

User Review  - goldenages -

Pillars of the Earth should be read first. I did World Without End first unknowingly. It was so phenomenal that I went back to read the preceeding Pillars. Both books are extremely well written ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2008)

Ken Follett is the author of twenty bestselling books, from the groundbreaking Eye of the Needle to, most recently, Fall of GiantsWhiteout, and Hornet Flight. He lives in England with his wife, Barbara Follett. Visit Ken's official website at

Bibliographic information