Front Cover
Dover, 1904 - Music - 283 pages
0 Reviews
Two symphonic masterworks employing vast orchestras, one powerfully portraying a day in the mountains, the other Strauss's day-to-day life at home with his wife, Pauline. Eine Alpensinfonie (1911–15) is  nature painting on a grand scale, a magnificent showcase for Strauss's gifts for sumptuous orchestration. The Symphonia Domestica (1902–3), despite its broad instrumentation, has more of the intimate feel of a chamber work. The full orchestral scores of both are reprinted here in one inexpensive volume from authoritative German editions.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

About the author (1904)

A German composer and conductor of the late Romantic/early Modern eras, Richard Strauss (1864-1949) is famous for his operas, Lieder, and tone poems.

Bibliographic information