Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Apr 29, 2008 - Fiction - 272 pages
1600 Reviews
For twelve thousand years the Galactic Empire has ruled supreme. Now it is dying. But only Hari Sheldon, creator of the revolutionary science of psychohistory, can see into the future—to a dark age of ignorance, barbarism, and warfare that will last thirty thousand years. To preserve knowledge and save mankind, Seldon gathers the best minds in the Empire—both scientists and scholars—and brings them to a bleak planet at the edge of the Galaxy to serve as a beacon of hope for a fututre generations. He calls his sanctuary the Foundation.

But soon the fledgling Foundation finds itself at the mercy of corrupt warlords rising in the wake of the receding Empire. Mankind's last best hope is faced with an agonizing choice: submit to the barbarians and be overrun—or fight them and be destroyed.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - BayardUS - LibraryThing

Before reading this collection I'd read Foundation by itself at least a decade previously, and though I forgot most of it in the intervening years, the main premise of a genius scientifically ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

The Original Star Wars
I have been meaning to reading Asimov's Foundation trilogy for years. Whenever I would wander through used book stores I would always peruse the science fiction section to
see if I could find a decent hard cover copy of his trilogy. I'd often Foundation or one of the latter two but I never found all three bound together or for that fact separate at the same time.And then, looking for bargains in the electronic aisles of the BOMC I found a brand, spanking new edition of the Foundation Trilogy. Now, it only took me a year plus before I finally read it, but I did & it sort, in this odd type of way, resembles my opening paragraph. 

All 5 reviews »

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

Isaac Asimov began his Foundation Series at the age of twenty-one, not realizing that it would one day be considered a cornerstone of science fiction. During his legendary career, Asimov penned pver 470 books on subjects ranging from science to Shakespeare to history, though he was most loved for his award-winning science fiction sagas, which include the Robot, Empire, and Foundation series. Named a Grand Master of Science Fiction by the Science Fiction Writers of America, Asimov entertained and educated readers of all ages for close to five decasdes. He died, at age of seventy-two, in April 1992.

From the Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information