Lament for the makers: a memorial anthology

Front Cover
Counterpoint, 1996 - Fiction - 89 pages
0 Reviews
"A small but rich anthology of poems by twentieth-century practitioners who influenced Merwin". Publishers Weekly

This beautifully packaged anthology begins with a memorial poem W S. Merwin honoring twenty-three great modern poets, all of whom died during his lifetime. It continues with representative works, photographs, and brief biographies of each. among them Dylan Thomas, Wallace Stevens, Sylvia Plath, Robert Frost, T. S. Eliot, Randall Jarrell, John Berryman, W. H. Auden, Marianne Moore, Ezra Pound, Robert Lowell, Elizabeth Bishop, James Wright, and James Merrill.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The poem that provides the title for this mini-anthology of modern poetry is Merwin's memorial to 23 contemporary poets, all now dead, whom he counts as influences. "Lament for the Makers" is a 52 ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

14 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Pulitzer Prize-winning poet and essayist W. S. Merwin was born in New York City in 1927. Merwin has won numerous prizes, including the Tanning Prize, the Bollingen Prize and the Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize. He is the author of fifteen books of poetry, numerous plays, nearly twenty books of translation and four books of prose.

Bibliographic information