Sherlock Holmes: Selected Stories

Front Cover
Oxford University Press, 1998 - Fiction - 435 pages
19 Reviews
This volume includes Silver Blaze, The Speckled Band, The Sign of Four, A Scandal of Bohemia, The Naval Treaty, The Blue Carbuncle, The Greek Interpreter, The Red-Headed League, The Empty House, The Missing Three-Quarter, and His Last Bow.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mrtall - LibraryThing

This volume comprises a very good selection of Conan Doyle's Sherlock Holmes stories -- from heavily-anthologized classics such as 'The Red-Headed League' to stories I'd not encountered before, such ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This was my first copy of Sherlock Holmes, and the moment it passed from my dad's hands into mine, i was hooked. The selection is exquisite, perfect for reeling in a fresh reader. But what is special about it is the introductory passage by S. C. Roberts. The introduction is a beautiful and soulful glance into Holmes' and Watson's lives, detailed yet brief. It's the best summary of Holmes' 'life' I've ever read. Long story short, even though I have complete sets of Sherlock Holmes with me, this copy is my favourite :) 

Other editions - View all

References to this book

About the author (1998)

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) was a Scottish writer who studied medicine before becoming the writer of the famous Sherlock Holmes series.

Bibliographic information