End of Millennium: The Information Age: Economy, Society, and Culture |, Volume 3

Front Cover
John Wiley & Sons, Jan 26, 2010 - Social Science - 488 pages
0 Reviews
This final volume in Manuel Castells' trilogy, with a substantial new preface, is devoted to processes of global social change induced by the transition from the old industrial society to the emerging global network society.
  • Explains why China, rather than Japan, is the economic and political actor that is revolutionizing the global system
  • Reflects on the contradictions of European unification, proposing the concept of the network state
  • Substantial new preface assesses the validity of the theoretical construction presented in the conclusion of the trilogy, proposing some conceptual modifications in light of the observed experience

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


A Time of Change
1 The Crisis of Industrial Statism and the Collapse of the Soviet Union
2 The Rise of the Fourth World Informational Capitalism Poverty and Social Exclusion
3 The Perverse Connection the Global Criminal Economy
4 Development and Crisis in the Asian Pacific Globalization and the State
5 The Unification of Europe Globalization Identity and the Network State
Conclusion Making Sense of our World
Summary of Contents of Volumes I and II

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Manuel Castells is Professor Emeritus of Sociology and Planning at the University of California, Berkeley. He is also University Professor and the Wallis Annenberg Chair in Communication Technology and Society at the University of Southern California, Los Angeles, and Research Professor at the Open University of Catalonia in Barcelona. He is Distinguished Visiting Professor of Technology and Society at M.I.T., and Distinguished Visiting Professor of Internet Studies at Oxford University. He is the recipient of numerous academic awards, including the Guggenheim Fellowship, C. Wright Mills Award, the Robert and Helen Lynd Award from the American Sociological Association, and the Ithiel de Sola Pool Award from the American Political Science Association. He is a Fellow of the European Academy, a Fellow of the Spanish Royal Academy of Economics, and a Corresponding Fellow of the British Academy. He has received 16 honorary doctorates from universities around the world, and has been knighted by five countries.   He has authored 23 books, among which is the trilogy The Information Age: Economy, Society, and Culture, first published by Blackwell in 1996–8, and translated into 22 languages.

Bibliographic information