Invisible People

Front Cover
W. W. Norton & Company, Nov 27, 2007 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 115 pages
7 Reviews

One of four extraordinary graphic novels celebrating the Big Apple, from the master of American comics art.A haunting trio of stories about life's forgotten shut-ins in the tradition of Kafka, Gogol, and Melville.

 

Born in New York in 1917, Will Eisner was the author of the legendary comic strip The Spirit. His fifteen graphic novels; his posthumous history, The Plot; and the newest compilation Life, in Pictures, form the Will Eisner Library. The comic industry's top annual awards, The Eisners, are named in his honor.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

Review: Invisible People (The New York Tetralogy #4)

User Review  - Betty Kaye - Goodreads

Excellent insight into people. I think I'll look up another one of his books. Read full review

Review: Invisible People (The New York Tetralogy #4)

User Review  - Matthew Simmons - Goodreads

Will Eisner was one of the most recognizable names in comic history. He invented the graphic novel and changed sequential art doing what he loved. He has a yearly comic award that shares his name. For ... Read full review

Contents

Sanctum
3
The Power 3 7
37
Mortal Combat
79
Requiem
113
Copyright

About the author (2007)

Will Eisner was born William Erwin Eisner on March 6, 1917 in Brooklyn, New York. By the time of his death on January 3, 2005, Will Eisner was recognized internationally as one of the giants in the field of sequential art, a term he coined. In a career that spanned nearly eight decades—from the dawn of the comic book to the advent of digital comics—Will Eisner was truly the 'Orson Welles of comics' and the 'father of the Graphic Novel'. He broke new ground in the development of visual narrative and the language of comics and was the creator of The Spirit, John Law, Lady Luck, Mr. Mystic, Uncle Sam, Blackhawk, Sheena and countless others. During World War II, Will Eisner used the comic format to develop training and equipment maintenance manuals for the US Army. After the war this continued as the Army's P.S. Magazine, which is still being produced today. Will Eisner taught Sequential Arts at the New York School of Visual Arts. The textbooks that he wrote based on his course are still bestsellers. In 1978, Will Eisner wrote A Contract with God, the first modern graphic novel. This was followed by almost 20 additional graphic novels over the following 25 years. The "Oscars" of the Comic Industry are called The Eisner Awards, and named after Will Eisner. The Eisners are presented annually before a packed ballroom at Comic-Con International in San Diego, America's largest comics convention. Wizard magazine named Eisner "the most influential comic artist of all time." Michael Chabon's Pulitzer-prize winning novel The Adventures of Kavalier and Clay is based in good part on Eisner. In 2002, Eisner received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the National Federation for Jewish Culture, only the second such honor in the organization's history, presented by Pulitzer Prize-winning cartoonist Art Spiegelman.

Bibliographic information