The Eagle's Quest: A Physicist Finds the Scientific Truth at the Heart of the Shamanic World

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, 1992 - Body, Mind & Spirit - 320 pages
2 Reviews
Journeying through the shamanistic world, from the Himalayas to the jungles of Peru, Fred Alan Wolf encountered strange phenomena--natural healing, firewalking, shape-shifting, near-death and out-of-body experiences, visions of the past and future, time traveling, and lucid dreaming-that seemingly could not be reconciled with his training as a theoretical physicist.

What people are saying - Write a review

THE EAGLE'S QUEST: A Physicist's Search for Truth in the Heart of the Shamanic World

User Review  - Jane Doe - Kirkus

More soul-searching and imaginative (to say the least) hypothesizing by Wolf (Parallel Universes, 1988, etc.)—this time in an attempt to explain shamanistic ``miracles'' in terms of quantum physics ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - rmcdow - LibraryThing

When I first received this book from a friend, I was excited to finally have something that would further the insights I have had into quantum physics as it applies to life. As I read through the book ... Read full review


Cast of Principal Characters
An Intuitive Physicists Quest
The Winds of Ayahuasca
The Power of Words and Sounds
Rituals and Initiations
Sacred Places and Plants
Sexuality Magic and Potency
Shamanic Healing
Other World Experiences
Time Traveling and Visions of Past
Shamanic Consciousness
Its Just a Movie Fred

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1992)

Fred Alan Wolf is an author of eleven books, a physicist, and a lecturer who earned his PhD in theoretical physics at UCLA in 1963. He has taught at San Diego State University as well as the University of London, the University of Paris, the Hahn-Meitner Institute for Nuclear Physics in Berlin, and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He is a member of the Martin Luther King, Jr. Collegium of Scholars, and the author of eleven books including Mind into Matter and Taking the Quantum Leap, for which he received the National Book Award.

Bibliographic information