The collected poems of Dylan Thomas

Front Cover
New Directions, 1953 - Poetry - 203 pages
The prologue in verse, written for this collected edition of my poems, is intended as an address to my readev3 the strangers. This book contains most of the poems I have written, and all, up to the present yea2, that I wish to preserve. Some of them I have revised a little. Preface.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

Review: Collected Poems

User Review  - Michael Murray - Goodreads

That voice on recordings is so resonant, and without any technical gadgetry. Very much a poet for adolescents, and whyever not! This first poet I fell into; the first poetry book I ever bought (Deaths ... Read full review


When like a running grave
My world is pyramid

13 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1953)

Dylan Thomas was born in Swansea, Wales on 27 October 1914. In 1934 his first book of poetry, "Eighteen Poems" appeared, followed by "Twenty-five Poems" in 1936, "Deaths and Entrances" in 1946 and in 1952 his final volume, "Collected Poems". He also published many short stories, wrote filmscripts, broadcast stories and talks, did a series of lecture tours in the United States and wrote "Under Milkwood", the radio play.

During his fourth lecture tour of the United States in 1953, a few days after his 39th birthday, he collapsed in his New York hotel and died on November 9th at St. Vincent's Hospital. His body was sent back to Laugharne, Wales, where his grave is marked by a simple wooden cross.

In June 1994, his wife, Caitlin Thomas, died in Italy, where she had spent most of the years of her life after the death of Dylan Thomas. Her body is buried next to his.

Bibliographic information