Front Cover
Orion, Dec 29, 2011 - Fiction - 688 pages
97 Reviews
Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

Warbreaker is the story of two sisters - who happen to be princesses, the God King one of them has to marry, a lesser god, and an immortal trying to undo the mistakes he made hundreds of years ago.

Theirs is a world in which those who die in glory return as gods to live confined to a pantheon in Hallandren's capital city. A world transformed by BioChromatic magic, a power based on an essence known as breath. Using magic is arduous: breath can only be collected one unit at a time from individual people.

But the rewards are great: by using breath and drawing upon the color in everyday objects, all manner of miracles and mischief can be performed.

Brandon Sanderson proves again that he is a master of what Tolkien called 'secondary creation,' the invention of whole worlds, complete with magics and myths all their own.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Reviews aren't verified, but Google checks for and removes fake content when it's identified

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bbbart - LibraryThing

Really nice and interesting fantasy novel. Indeed quite different from other books in the same genre. The magic system is quite intricate, yet easy to understand and *very* nicely explained throughout ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Merlucito - LibraryThing

This is my first Sanderson book. I started with this one because is a standalone just in case I didn't like his writing style or something... but... I love it. I mean, I was already a fan of Sanderson ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Brandon Sanderson grew up in Lincoln, Nebraska. He lives in Utah with his wife and children and teaches creative writing at Brigham Young University. He is the author of such bestsellers as the MistbornŽ saga; the Stormlight Archive novels; and other novels, including The Rithmatist, Steelheart, and Skyward. He won a Hugo Award for The Emperor's Soul, a novella set in the world of his acclaimed first novel, Elantris. Additionally, he was chosen to complete Robert Jordan's The Wheel of TimeŽ sequence.

Bibliographic information