A History of Western Music

Front Cover
W.W. Norton, 2006 - Music - 1093 pages
3 Reviews
"Comprehensively revised, the Seventh Edition calls attention to what's important, where it fits, why it matters, and who cares. Shorter, self-contained chapters are framed by historical context at the beginning and the music's reception and legacy at the end. Sidebars highlight composer biographies, music in daily life, and musical innovations in every period. Timelines and pithy Source Readings in each chapter place music in broader cultural context. Coverage of modern music has been significantly expanded to explore popular and classical idioms as well as the rich diversity of musical genres and styles available today. Long regarded as the definitive history of works and events, A History of Western Music now tells the story of the people behind the music."--BOOK JACKET.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mezamashiman - LibraryThing

This book serves as a wonderful introduction to the history of European and American art music. The book is structured in an interesting way. Instead of being a simple chronology of music history ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Brightman - LibraryThing

Very well illustrated history of music Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2006)

Donald Jay Grout, late professor of music at Cornell University, also wrote a standard history of opera.

J. Peter Burkholder is Distinguished Professor of Musicology at Indiana University. He has written and edited four books on Charles Ives, as well as numerous articles on topics spanning from the Middle Ages to the twentieth century for The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, Journal of the American Musicological Society, Journal of Musicology, Musical Quarterly, 19th-Century Music, Music Theory Spectrum, and other journals. He has served as President, Vice President, and Director-at-Large of the American Musicological Society and on the board of the College Music Society. His writings have received awards from the American Musicological Society, the Society for American Music, and ASCAP.

Claude V. Palisca, late professor of music at Yale University, began his collaboration on A History of Western Music with the Third Edition. Among his many publications are a history of Baroque music and a collection of scholarly essays on Italian Renaissance music.

Bibliographic information