Moses Cleaveland was sent to survey the lands of the Western Reserve of Connecticut into townships in 1796. Due to a strike, the surveyors were given plots within the new Euclid Township as part of their compensation. They sold these plots to arriving settlers from the east. Aristarkus and Sarah Brainard, the area's first family, arrived in 1831. In 1877, the Mayfield Plank Road was constructed allowing a steady stream of people and goods to easily travel from eastern farms to markets found at Doan's Corners in Cleveland, Ohio. As this part of Euclid Township grew, the area became Euclidville Village, later changed to Lyndhurst Village in 1920. The post-World War II building boom brought many young families to Lyndhurst and transformed the sleepy village into a charming 21st-century suburb.
What people are saying - Write a review
We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.
A Village Grows
The 1950s Aerial Photographs
Bert Gesings Neighborhood
People Places and Things
The Neighborhood Schools
Other editions - View all
Acacia Country Club Al Santos August 13 Bert Gesing's neighborhood Bolton Elementary School Brainard Road Brush Alumni Association Brush High School building Charles F Chester Cleveland Cole Airfield community center dedicated Euclid Township Euclidville Fire Department Forest Stewardship Council Franchester Francis Payne Bolton Fred Kinstler Gates Mills Gordon Abbey Guenther Hawken School Interurban Railway Junior High School Ken Cole's Korb left to right little red schoolhouse Lyndhurst City Hall Lyndhurst Community Lyndhurst Florist Lyndhurst Golf Course Lyndhurst Homedays Lyndhurst Park Estates Lyndhurst Pool Lyndhurst Post Office Lyndhurst Presbyterian Church Lyndhurst service director Lyndhurst Village Hall Lyndhurst Village School Mayfield Country Club Mayfield Heights Mayfield Plank Road Mayfield Road Mayor Lester Ehrhardt Memorial Junior High neighborhood kids northwest corner Ohio old Lyndhurst Village photograph of Lyndhurst photograph was taken razed Richmond Road Richmond Theater Ridgebury Road September 29 South Euclid Spencer Road taken on August top left underway Western Reserve