Preserving the World's Great Cities: The Destruction and Renewal of the Historic Metropolis

Przednia okładka
Clarkson Potter, 2001 - 469
1 recenzji
Both epic and intimate, this is the story of the fight to save the world’s architectural and cultural heritage as it is embodied in the extraordinary buildings and urban spaces of the great cities of Asia, the Americas, and Europe.

Never before have the complexities and dramas of urban preservation been as keenly documented as inPreserving the World’s Great Cities. In researching this important work, Anthony Tung traveled throughout the world to visit remarkable buildings and districts in China, Italy, Greece, the U.S., Japan, and elsewhere. Everywhere he found both the devastating legacy of war, economics, and indifference and the accomplishments of people who have worked and sometimes risked their lives to preserve and renew the most meaningful urban expressions of the human spirit.

From Singapore’s blind rush to become the most modern city of the East to Warsaw’s poignant and heroic effort to resurrect itself from the Nazis’ systematic campaign of physical and cultural obliteration, from New York and Rome to Kyoto and Cairo, we see the city as an expression of the best and worst within us. This is essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs and Witold Rybczynski and everyone who is concerned about urban preservation.

Z wnętrza książki

Co mówią ludzie - Napisz recenzję

LibraryThing Review

Recenzja użytkownika  - MHelm1017 - LibraryThing

This book includes an immense about of information on several relevent topics, such as the economic, environmental, historical, and architectural concerns involved in preserving the buildings and ... Przeczytaj pełną recenzję

Inne wydania - Wyświetl wszystko

Kluczowe wyrazy i wyrażenia

Odniesienia do tej książki

Wszystkie wyniki z usługi Książki Google »

Informacje o autorze (2001)

ANTHONY M. TUNG has been a New York City Landmarks Preservation Commissioner, a member of the Board of Trustees of Cooper Union, and a lecturer on architecture at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. He lives in New York City.

Informacje bibliograficzne