The ice at the bottom of the world: stories

Front Cover
Knopf, 1989 - Fiction - 144 pages
4 Reviews
In these ten stories, Mark Richard, winner of the 1990 PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award, emerges as the heir apparent to Mark Twain, Flannery O'Connor, and William Faulkner. From the Trade Paperback edition.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bensdad00 - LibraryThing

"Strays" - the lead-off but not titular story - is the one that led me to this collection (although I wish I knew where the referral came from) and is in my opinion the best story in the book. All of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - reganrule - LibraryThing

Mark Richard's voice in this gut-punch collection of stories recalls Breece D'J Pancake's Appalachian darkness (but not its pacing), and McCarthy's inebriated river-sloshed wordplay in Suttree. Of the ... Read full review



3 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1989)

Richard became the youngest radio announcer in the country at the age of thirteen. He attended Washington and Lee University. After his third year there he left to work on oceangoing trawlers and fishing boats. After three years on the water he returned to school and earned a degree in journalism. Since that time Mark has been employed as a radio announcer, aerial photographer, house painter, advertising copywriter, naval correspondent for a newspaper, magazine editor, bartender, private investigator, and teacher.

Bibliographic information