Aftermath: Travels in a Post-war World

Front Cover
Roberts Rinehart Publishers, 1996 - Science - 239 pages
6 Reviews
Blending personal and political history, a beloved writer chronicles his return in 1953 to the Europe he first encountered during World War II. Retracing his wartime steps in Europe, Farley Mowat revisited England, France, and the nightmarish battlefields of Italy where tragically high numbers of his Candian comrades had fallen. Lively, moving, heartstopping, and beautifully told, Aftermath is vintage Mowat. 15 illustrations. Map.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gypsysmom - LibraryThing

Every time I read a Farley Mowat book I am reminded again what a great writer he was. He was a great addition to the Canadian book scene and it is too bad he has finally gone to that great nature ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - StephenBarkley - LibraryThing

From September 1943 to the conclusion of World War II in 1945, Farley Mowat served his Country in Sicily, Italy, and later the Netherlands. He witnessed people and land being ripped apart by constant ... Read full review


The Queens Brew
Gaie Paris
Fall of a Fortress

5 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Farley Mowat's nearly forty books have sold millions of copies & have been published in more than twenty languages. His books include "Never Cry Wolf", "Sea of Slaughter", "The Farfarers", "People of the Deer", "The Dog Who Wouldn't Be", "The Desperate People", & "Ordeal by Ice".

Bibliographic information