Clariel: The Lost Abhorsen

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Oct 14, 2014 - Young Adult Fiction - 416 pages

Award-winning author Garth Nix returns to the Old Kingdom with a thrilling prequel complete with dark magic, royalty, dangerous action, a strong heroine, and flawless world building. This epic fantasy adventure is destined to be a classic and is perfect for fans of Rae Carson, Kristin Cashore, Scott Westerfeld, and Cassandra Clare.

Clariel is the daughter of one of the most notable families in the Old Kingdom, with blood relations to the Abhorsen and, most important, to the King. She dreams of living a simple life but discovers this is hard to achieve when a dangerous Free Magic creature is loose in the city, her parents want to marry her off to a killer, and there is a plot brewing against the old and withdrawn King Orrikan. When Clariel is drawn into the efforts to find and capture the creature, she finds hidden sorcery within herself, yet it is magic that carries great dangers. Can she rise above the temptation of power, escape the unwanted marriage, and save the King?

 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - willszal - LibraryThing

"Clariel" is a book about power, and the sacrifices that come along with it. The Old Kingdom series was my favorite fantasy series as a teenager, and possibly still today. I was excited to recently ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Codonnelly - LibraryThing

The fourth novel, a prequel, is definitely the odd (wo)man out, as it jumps back in time over a thousand years. Clariel is the first anti-hero in the series, and she makes some highly questionable ... Read full review

Contents

Prologue
Welcome to the City
Colorful Fish and Colorful Clothes
Plots and Machinations
Getting Ready for School
Mistress Ader and the Academy
Tea and Arguments
The Education of a Charter Mage
Earning a Mothers Favor
The Governors Dinner
Seeking Refuge
Unwanted Climbing Practice
A Mouthful of Earth
You Dont See That Every
Hillfair Horses and Dogs
Across the Bridge into the House

Complications and Opportunities
Old Secrets New Plans
To the Islet
Out of the Bottle
The Education of a Berserk
Off to the Palace
King Orrikan Regrets
Gone Fishing
Into the Waterfall
Once Were Dragons
Return to Belisaere
Epilogue
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2014)

Garth Nix is a New York Times bestselling novelist and has been a full-time writer since 2001, but has also worked as a literary agent, marketing consultant, book editor, book publicist, book sales representative, bookseller, and as a part-time soldier in the Australian Army Reserve.

Garth’s many books include the Old Kingdom fantasy series, beginning with Sabriel and continuing to Goldenhand; the sci-fi novels Shade’s Children and A Confusion of Princes; the Regency romance with magic Newt’s Emerald; and novels for children including The Ragwitch, the Seventh Tower series, the Keys to the Kingdom series, and Frogkisser!, which is now in development as a feature film with Fox Animation/Blue Sky Studios. Garth has written numerous short stories, some of which are collected in Across the Wall and To Hold the Bridge. He has also cowritten several children’s book series with Sean Williams, including TroubleTwisters and Have Sword, Will Travel.

More than six million copies of his books have been sold around the world and his work has been translated into forty-two languages. You can find him online at www.garthnix.com.

Bibliographic information