Collected Stories of William Faulkner

Front Cover
Vintage International, 1950 - Fiction - 900 pages
120 Reviews

"I'm a failed poet. Maybe every novelist wants to write poetry first, finds he can't and then tries the short story which is the most demanding form after poetry. And failing that, only then does he take up novel writing." --William Faulkner
Winner of the National Book Award

Forty-two stories make up this magisterial collection by the writer who stands at the pinnacle of modern American fiction. Compressing an epic expanse of vision into hard and wounding narratives, Faulkner's stories evoke the intimate textures of place, the deep strata of history and legend, and all the fear, brutality, and tenderness of the human condition. These tales are set not only in Yoknapatawpha County, but in Beverly Hills and in France during World War I. They are populated by such characters as the Faulknerian archetypes Flem Snopes and Quentin Compson, as well as by ordinary men and women who emerge so sharply and indelibly in these pages that they dwarf the protagonists of most novels.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Collected Stories

User Review  - Goodreads

Somew of the stories are hard to understand but a reader gets into the rhythm of Faulkner's storytelling. This is not a collection to dip into but is more to be read all at once. Read full review

Review: Collected Stories

User Review  - Lee Razer - Goodreads

Two years and one month after beginning; completion! My kids aren't the only ones who get easily distracted. 5 stars: 1)Barn Burning 2)Death Drag 3)Elly 4)That Evening Sun 5)A Justice 6)Lo! 7)Victory ... Read full review



44 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1950)

William Cuthbert Faulkner was born in 1897 and raised in Oxford, Mississippi, where he spent most of his life. One of the towering figures of American literature, he is the author of The Sound and the Fury, Absalom, Absalom!, and As I Lay Dying, among many other remarkable books. Faulkner was awarded the Nobel Prize in 1950 and France's Legion of Honor in 1951. He died in 1962.

Bibliographic information