Winter's Heart: Book Nine of 'The Wheel of Time'

Front Cover
Macmillan, 2000 - Fiction - 780 pages
63 Reviews

The Wheel of Time turns and Ages come and go. What was, what will be, and what is, may yet fall under the Shadow.

Let the Dragon ride again on the winds of time.


Book One: The Eye of the World
Book Two: The Great Hunt
Book Three: The Dragon Reborn
Book Four: The Shadow Rising
Book Five: The Fires of Heaven
Book Six: Lord of Chaos
Book Seven: A Crown of Swords
Book Eight: The Path of Daggers
Book Nine: Winter's Heart
Book Ten: Crossroads of Twilight


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Interesting Story

User Review  - lansingreader -

I have only read the first 3 books of The Wheel of Time so far but they are very interesting. The author is not only imaginative he also draws very clear character descriptions. His stories show ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book has more pointless dialogue than any other book I have ever read! And yet I still can't stop reading it... but the whole time I'm reading it I am thinking, "I know something good is going to happen eventually..." and it does... in the last 10 pages. Every single book in this series is like this. So frustrating but I still like them. Jordan has done an excellent job of creating one of the best worlds that fantasy literature has to offer. Good characters but it seems like every single woman hates every single man even the one she is married too.  

All 6 reviews »


Back Matter
Back Matter
Back Matter
Back Matter
Back Matter
Back Matter
Back Cover

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Robert Jordan was born in 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He taught himself to read when he was four with the incidental aid of a twelve-years-older brother, and was tackling Mark Twain and Jules Verne by five. He is a graduate of The Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics. He served two tours in Vietnam with the U.S. Army; among his decorations are the Distinguished Flying Cross with bronze oak leaf cluster, the Bronze Star with "V" and bronze oak leafcluster, and two Vietnamese Gallantry Crosses with palm. A history buff, he has also written dance and theater criticism and enjoyed the outdoor sports of hunting, fishing, and sailing, and the indoor sports of poker, chess, pool, and pipe collecting.
Robert Jordan began writing in 1977 and went on to write The Wheel of TimeŽ, one of the most important and best selling series in the history of fantasy publishing with over 14 million copies sold in North America, and countless more sold abroad.
Robert Jordan died on September 16, 2007, after a courageous battle with the rare blood disease amyloidosis.

Bibliographic information