Death Before Wicket: A Phryne Fisher Mystery

Front Cover
Poisoned Pen Press, Jan 28, 2012 - Fiction - 232 pages
59 Reviews
Phryne Fisher is on holiday. She means to take the train to Sydney (where the harbour bridge is being built), go to a few cricket matches, dine with the Chancellor of the university and perhaps go to the Arts Ball with that celebrated young modernist, Chas Nutall. She has the costume of a lifetime and she’s not afraid to use it. When she arrives there, however, her maid Dot finds that her extremely respectable married sister Joan has vanished, leaving her small children to the neglectful care of a resentful husband. She rescues the children, but what has become of Joan, who would never leave her babies? Surely she hasn’t run away with a lover, as gossip suggests? Phryne must trawl the nightclubs and bloodtubs of Darlinghurst to find out. And while Phryne is visiting the university, two very pretty young men, Joss and Clarence, ask her to find out who has broken into the Dean’s safe and stolen a number of things, including the Dean’s wife’s garnets and an irreplaceable illuminated book called the Hours of Juana the Mad. An innocent student has been blamed. So there is no rest for the wicked, and Phryne girds up her loins, loads her pearl handled .32 Beretta, and sallies forth to find mayhem, murder, black magic, and perhaps a really good cocktail at the Hotel Australia.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Death Before Wicket (Phryne Fisher #10)

User Review  - Denise - Goodreads

I have very much enjoyed this Phryne Fisher series, although this one not as much as I do not understand cricket nor the Egyptian mysticism of the time (the 1920's). An Agatha Christie type mystery complete with a crime reinactment. Read full review

Review: Death Before Wicket (Phryne Fisher #10)

User Review  - Katie Bee - Goodreads

Although still much fun because of Phryne, I confess that this isn't my favorite of the Miss Fisher books. All the dark magic and spirtualism - although very period-accurate, I'm sure - just kinda bores me. Read full review

About the author (2012)

Kerry Greenwood is the author of more than 40 novels and six non-fiction books. Among her many honors, Ms. Greenwood has received the Ned Kelly Lifetime Achievement Award from the Crime Writers’ Association of Australia. When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates’ Courts for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered Wizard.

Bibliographic information