Miscellaneous keyboard works: toccatas, fugues, and other pieces : from the Bach-Gesellschaft edition

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 1853 - Music - 303 pages
0 Reviews

This volume brings together a wide selection of Bach's keyboard compositions, including many pieces difficult to find in other editions. Included are several well-known works: the important harpsichord toccatas, the "Capriccio on the Departure of His Most Beloved Brother," the "Aria Variata alla Maniera Italiana," and the "Six Little Preludes," as well as many lesser-known but significant pieces fugues, sonatas, and other works over 40 in all. Reprinted from the authoritative Breitkopf and Hartel edition, the music in this inexpensive yet well-made volume offers pianists a rich selection of interesting works stamped with the melodic and rhythmic invention and harmonic audacity characteristic of Bach.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (1853)

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685–1750) was a prolific German composer and organist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo instruments exemplify the heart and soul of the Baroque period. A revival of interest and performances of his music began early in the 19th century and continue to this day. He is now widely considered to be one of the greatest composers in the Western tradition.

Bibliographic information