The Buntline Special: A Weird West Tale

Front Cover
Pyr, 2010 - Fiction - 321 pages
13 Reviews
"The United States of America ends at the Mississippi River. Beyond lies the Indian nations, where the magic of powerful Medicine Men has halted the advance of the Americans east of the river. An American government desperate to expand its territory sends Thomas Alva Edison out West to the town of Tombstone, Arizona, on a mission to discover a scientific means of counterating magic. Hired to protect this great genius, Wyatt Earp and his brothers. But there are plenty who would like to see the Earps and Edison dead. Riding to their aid are old friends Doc Holliday and Bat Masterson. Against them stand the Apache wizard Geronimo and the Clanton gang. Battle lines are drawn, and the clanton gang, which has its own reasons for wanting Edison dead, sends for Johnny Ringo, the one man who might be Doc Holliday's equual in a gunfight. But what shows up instead is The Thing That Was Once Johnny Ringo, returned from the dead and come to Tombsone looking for a fight."--P[4] of cover.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ChrisWeir - LibraryThing

Ugggh. Steampunk goes west, old time cowboys and steampunk inventions. Sounds great doesn't it. To bad the book never reached that potential. I almost put the book down when it had a young Thomas ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - FiLoMa - LibraryThing

A great read. One of the most interesting and enteraing stories I have read in a long time. I really enjoyed the alternative reality this story offered and it was fascinating to read up on the Earp ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Mike Resnick has won an impressive five Hugos and has been nominated for thirty more. The author of the Starship series, the John Justin Mallory series, and the Weird West Tales, he has sold sixty-nine novels and more than two hundred fifty short stories and has edited forty anthologies. His Kirinyaga series, with sixty-seven major and minor awards and nominations to date, is the most honored series of stories in the history of science fiction. Visit him online at

Bibliographic information