Monsters of Men: Chaos Walking: Book Three

Front Cover
Candlewick Press, Oct 18, 2010 - Juvenile Fiction - 608 pages
4 Reviews
In the riveting conclusion to the acclaimed dystopian series, a boy and girl caught in the chaos of war face devastating choices that will decide the fate of a world. As a world-ending war surges around them, Todd and Viola face monstrous decisions. The indigenous Spackle, thinking and acting as one, have mobilized to avenge their murdered people. Ruthless human leaders prepare to defend their factions at all costs, even as a convoy of new settlers approaches. And as the ceaseless Noise lays all thoughts bare, the projected will of the few threatens to overwhelm the desperate desire of the many. The consequences of each action, each word, are unspeakably vast: To follow a tyrant or a terrorist? To save the life of the one you love most, or thousands of strangers? To believe in redemption, or assume it is lost? Becoming adults amid the turmoil, Todd and Viola question all they have known, racing through horror and outrage toward a shocking finale. Includes “Snowscape,” a short story by Patrick Ness.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A very satisfying end to an incredible fantasy series. A deeply unsettling look at the complexities of humanity and the painful realities of colonisation and war. The story barrelled along at breakneck speed but afforded many opportunities for introspection. It seemed very dire and depressing at times but ended on a hopeful note. A highly enjoyable read. 

Review: Monsters of Men (Chaos Walking #3)

User Review  - Pamela - Goodreads

MONSTERS OF MEN is the conclusion of Patrick Ness's riveting "Chaos Walking" trilogy about an Earth-like planet recently invaded by humans. The first book (THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO) contains the ... Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Patrick Ness was born on October 17, 1971 near Fort Belvoir, Virginia. He studied English Literature and is a graduate of the University of Southern California. He was a corporate writer before moving to London in 1999. He taught creative writing at Oxford University and is a literary critic and reviewer for the Guardian and other major newspapers. He is the author of eight novels including The Rest of Us Just Live Here and a short story collection entitled Topics About Which I Know Nothing. His young adult novels include the Chaos Walking trilogy, More Than This, and Monsters of Men, which won the Carnegie Medal. A Monster Calls won the Kate Greenaway Medal for illustration and the Carnegie Medal.

Bibliographic information