Flappers and Philosophers

Front Cover
HardPress, 2012 - Fiction - 292 pages
19 Reviews
Flappers and Philosophers was the first collection of short stories written by F. Scott Fitzgerald, published in 1920. It includes eight stories:
1. "The Offshore Pirate"
2. "The Ice Palace"
3. "Head and Shoulders"
4. "The Cut-Glass Bowl"
5. "Bernice Bobs Her Hair"
6. "Benediction"
7. "Dalyrimple Goes Wrong"
8. "The Four Fists"

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Flappers and Philosophers

User Review  - Devyn Duffy - Goodreads

I was lucky enough to read the Cambridge edition of this, which includes six additional stories and some bonus material including one alternate ending. Fitzgerald, like his contemporary Hemingway ... Read full review

Review: Flappers and Philosophers

User Review  - Aaron - Goodreads

Another excellent Fitzgerald book! Some very fun twist and exciting endings in these stories. Also, the last story, Four Fists, was a great, feel good story to go out on. It felt a little bit ... Read full review

About the author (2012)

Francis Scott Key Fitzgerald (September 24, 1896 ? December 21, 1940) was an American author of novels and short stories, whose works are the paradigm writings of the Jazz Age, a term he coined himself. He is widely regarded as one of the greatest American writers of the 20th century. Fitzgerald is considered a member of the "Lost Generation" of the 1920s. He finished four novels: This Side of Paradise, The Beautiful and Damned, Tender Is the Night, and his most famous, The Great Gatsby. A fifth, unfinished novel, The Love of the Last Tycoon, was published posthumously. Fitzgerald also wrote many short stories that treat themes of youth and promise along with despair and age.

Both The Great Gatsby and Tender Is the Night were made into films, and in 1958 his life from 1937?1940 was dramatized in Beloved Infidel.


Bibliographic information