The Yard

Front Cover
G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2012 - Fiction - 422 pages
Victorian London is a cesspool of crime, and Scotland Yard has only twelve detectives—known as “The Murder Squad”—to investigate countless murders every month. Created after the Metropolitan Police's spectacular failure to capture Jack the Ripper, The Murder Squad suffers rampant public contempt. They have failed their citizens. But no one can anticipate the brutal murder of one of their own . . . one of the twelve . . .

When Walter Day, the squad's newest hire, is assigned the case of the murdered detective, he finds a strange ally in the Yard's first forensic pathologist, Dr. Bernard Kingsley. Together they track the killer, who clearly is not finished with The Murder Squad . . . but why?

Filled with fascinating period detail, and real historical figures, this spectacular debut in a new series showcases the depravity of late Victorian London, the advent of criminology, and introduces a stunning new cast of characters sure to appeal to fans of The Sherlockian and The Alienist.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
23
4 stars
30
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
3

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Olivermagnus - LibraryThing

I like historical mysteries set in Victorian London so I was excited to pick up a copy of The Yard by Alex Grecian. After their failure to capture Jack the Ripper, faith in the Metropolitan Police ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lkernagh - LibraryThing

Grecian has written a quick, page-turning read (yes, even at 583 pages, it is a rather fast read). Of course, I love the whole Victorian England time period – a wonderful setting for such murderous ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

 Alex Grecian is the author of the long-running and critically acclaimed graphic novel series Proof. He lives in the Midwest with his wife and son. The Yard is his first novel.

Bibliographic information