Jack Kirby's Fourth World Omnibus, Volume One

Front Cover
DC Comics, May 2, 2007 - Comics & Graphic Novels - 396 pages
After co-creating comic book heroes including The Fantastic Four and The Hulk, legendary writer/artist Jack Kirby came to DC Comics in 1970 to write and illustrate four interlocking series known collectively as "The Fourth World." Now, for the first time, DC collects these four series -- The New Gods, The Forever People, Mister Miracle and Superman's Pal Jimmy Olsen -- in chronological order as they originally appeared. These comics spanned galaxies, from the streets of Metropolis to the far-flung worlds of New Genesis and Apokolips, as cosmic-powered heroes and villains struggled for supremacy. Volume 1 features the debuts of Orion of the New Gods, the evil Darkseid, super-escape artist Mister Miracle and many others. It also features numerous appearances by Superman.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Ron18 - www.librarything.com

Just the best. It can be argued that Kirby's best work was when he had hit his stride with Fantastic Four (from the beginning) - but this wasn't because his best work had actually happened... it's ... Read full review

A great packaging of Jack kirbys Fourth world !

User Review  - gmvjones56 - Overstock.com

For any fan of Jack Kirby this is a must own collection of his Fourth world series!What made this book stand out was the great inkingcolroing print and paper quality of this book! Alsothe stories were ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Jack "King" Kirby's comics career began in 1937 and continued for nearly six decades. As the most valued team in comics, Simon and Kirby went on to create titles and concepts including Fighting American, Boys' Ranch and the creation of the romance comics genre. In 1961, the first issue of Marvel's Fantastic Four cemented Kirby's reputation as comics' preeminent creator, and a slew of famous titles followed that elevated him to legendary status, including Incredible Hulk, Avengers and X-Men. Kirby returned to DC in 1971 with his classic "Fourth World Trilogy," which was followed by The Demon, Omac and Kamandi. Kirby continued working and innovating in comics until his death in 1994.

Bibliographic information