Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Feb 5, 2013 - Juvenile Fiction - 384 pages

New York Times Bestselling Series!

“A high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. The Colossus Rises is Lerangis’s most gripping work yet. Young readers will love this story. I can’t wait to see what’s next in the Seven Wonders series!” —Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series

Young readers will learn all about the history and mysteries of the ancient world while savoring this unputdownable story from first page to last. 

Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in master storyteller and 39 Clues author Peter Lerangis’s epic Seven Wonders series.

The Colossus Rises is the first installment of the bestselling five-book series chronicling the story of Jack McKinley, an ordinary kid with an extraordinary problem. In a few months, he’s going to die—unless he finds seven magic Loculi that have been hidden in the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.


What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

The Seven Wonders series is a series written by the master storyteller, Peter Lerangis. The series is about Jack McKinney and his friends Marco Ramsay, Aly Black, and Cass Williams who all have a rare disease called G7W. The disease kills them at fourteen if they don’t have a cure. To save them, the team has to go on many epic quests to return the seven loculi that are hidden in the seven wonders of the ancient world by Prince Massarym of Atlantis. The team has to successfully get the seven loculi to the Heptakilos in a mountain on Atlantis called Mount Onyx. If they successfully return all of the seven loculi, they will raise the sunken continent of Atlantis. But if prince Karai is right, then they will have to destroy the loculi to make things the way they would be if nothing had happened. This series is funny, scary, breathtaking, and a real nail biter. This is an awesome mix up of modern world adventure and ancient mythology. Read this series to get the thrill of watching Jack and his friends save their own future!  

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A boy named jack McKinley one day wakes up and gets whacked in the head. later is is run over and is taken to many hospitals and institutes. He tries to escape a few times but fails. I recommend this book very much because my friends have had lots of fun and it is a very interesting book called "The Colossus Rises." 


Chapter Five Arrival
Chapter Eight
Chapter Eleven Three A M
Chapter Fifteen Training
Chapter Nineteen Mount Onyx
Chapter TwentyThree Into the Abyss
Chapter TwentySeven Recalculating
Chapter ThirtyOne Marco

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Peter Lerangis is the author of more than one hundred and sixty books, which have sold more than five and half million copies and been translated into thirty-three different languages. These include the five books in the New York Times bestselling Seven Wonders series, The Colossus Rises, Lost in Babylon, The Tomb of Shadows, The Curse of the King, and The Legend of the Rift, and two books in the 39 Clues series. He lives in New York City with his family.

Bibliographic information