The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Jun 14, 2016 - Fiction - 352 pages
135 Reviews
For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from “one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure—and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It’s 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent—and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening—to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
50
4 stars
59
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 star
1

Review: The Tumbling Turner Sisters

User Review  - Cindy Norton - Goodreads

The Tumbling Turner Sisters gives us a wonderful glimpse of American Vaudeville during the 1900's. Juliette Fay creates unique, vivid, well-developed characters. You are quickly immersed in their ... Read full review

Review: The Tumbling Turner Sisters

User Review  - Keegan Dennis - Goodreads

A light, yet fascinating read, the end packed too much information into too few chapters for me, but it was interesting nonetheless. Read full review

All 3 reviews »

Contents

Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 17
Section 18
Section 19
Section 20
Section 21
Section 22
Section 23
Section 24

Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12
Section 13
Section 14
Section 15
Section 16
Section 25
Section 26
Section 27
Section 28
Section 29
Section 30
Section 31
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Juliette Fay is the award-winning author of The Tumbling Turner Sisters, The Shortest Way Home, Deep Down True, and Shelter Me. She received a bachelor’s degree from Boston College and a master’s degree from Harvard University. Juliette lives in Massachusetts with her husband and four children. Her website is JulietteFay.com.

Bibliographic information