The Tumbling Turner Sisters: A Novel

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Jun 14, 2016 - Fiction - 352 pages
146 Reviews
For fans of Orphan Train and Water for Elephants, a compelling historical novel from “one of the best authors of women’s fiction” (Library Journal). Set against the turbulent backdrop of American Vaudeville, four sisters embark on an unexpected adventure—and a last-ditch effort to save their family.

It’s 1919, and the Turners are barely scraping by. When their father loses his job, their irrepressible mother decides that vaudeville is their best chance to make the rent—and create a more exciting life for herself in the process.

Traveling by train from town to town, teenagers Gert, Winnie, and Kit, and recent widow Nell soon find a new kind of freedom in the company of performers who are as diverse as their acts. There is a seamier side to the business, however, and the young women face dangers and turns of fate they never could have anticipated. Heartwarming and surprising, The Tumbling Turner Sisters is ultimately a story of awakening—to unexpected possibilities, to love and heartbreak, and to the dawn of a new American era.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
54
4 stars
66
3 stars
21
2 stars
4
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - smallwonder56 - LibraryThing

Another wonderful book by Juliette Fay. It's so unlike her other books that I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it or not, but you quickly become absorbed in the characters and what drives each of them. I'd ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bookappeal - LibraryThing

Though it doesn't delve as deeply into emotion as it could, this novel provides insight into the world of vaudeville as told through two perspectives, one sister who views the tumbling act as a means ... Read full review

All 2 reviews »

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
12
Section 3
29
Section 4
47
Section 5
71
Section 6
77
Section 7
80
Section 8
99
Section 18
192
Section 19
200
Section 20
204
Section 21
213
Section 22
215
Section 23
225
Section 24
229
Section 25
248

Section 9
111
Section 10
121
Section 11
130
Section 12
144
Section 13
158
Section 14
163
Section 15
176
Section 16
179
Section 17
181
Section 26
269
Section 27
279
Section 28
295
Section 29
311
Section 30
325
Section 31
331
Section 32
336
Section 33
337
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2016)

Juliette Fay is the award-winning author of The Tumbling Turner Sisters, The Shortest Way Home, Deep Down True, and Shelter Me. She received a bachelor’s degree from Boston College and a master’s degree from Harvard University. Juliette lives in Massachusetts with her husband and four children. Her website is JulietteFay.com.

Bibliographic information