The Journals of Susanna Moodie

Front Cover
Bloomsbury, 1997 - Frontier and pioneer life - 70 pages
13 Reviews
This poetry collection was first written in 1970. In 1980, Atwood's long-time friend, the artist Charles Pachter, illustrated, designed and published a limited, hand-made, boxed portfolio edition of 120 copies of the poem with silkscreen illlustrations. This is a facsimile edition of it.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: The Journals of Susanna Moodie

User Review  - Wendy - Goodreads

The writer's information on the back cover says, "Margaret Atwood lives in Edmonton." That was so long ago...when she was the UofA's writer in residence. I'm embarrassed to say I am only getting to ... Read full review

Review: The Journals of Susanna Moodie

User Review  - Rebecca - Goodreads

The poetry is beautiful, and, in the edition I read, the accompanying artwork was too. Read full review

About the author (1997)

Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. Atwood is also the author of the MaddAdam trilogy which includes Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, MaddAdam. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987.

Bibliographic information