Front Cover
Baen, 1996 - Fiction - 302 pages
264 Reviews
Cetaganda is the latest installment of the Hugo-award winning adventures of Miles Vorkosigan, in which Miles and Cousin Ivan go to Cetaganda to play the part of sprigs of the nobility doing their diplomatic duty by good old Barrayar. The idea is that they will gain diplomatic polish on this simple mission, but when the Cetagandan empress dies naturally and her lifelong attendant dies unnaturally - apparently a suicide, but there are rumors - Miles and Ivan find themselves in the thick of it.
Miles tries to play detective in a strange, complicated, and deceptively alien culture. Meanwhile, handsome and lascivious Ivan manages to get himself involved with several women at the same time - all of whom are TROUBLE from the word go. Miles had always wanted to save the Empire - it was just that the Cetagandan wasn't exactly the empire he'd had in mind...

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Awesome mystery with a brutally pragmatic ending. - Goodreads
Miles foils an evil plot. - Goodreads
Even so, Cetaganda was fun and had a solid plot. - Goodreads
Bujold's writing is excellent but the story is boring. - Goodreads

Review: Cetaganda (Vorkosigan Saga (Publication) #9)

User Review  - Faith - Goodreads

Another lovely book from Ms. Bujold. This time Miles doesn't get himself into the mess (that's done for him) but he certainly doesn't try to get himself out. Typical. The gradual building up of the ... Read full review

Review: Cetaganda (Vorkosigan Saga (Publication) #9)

User Review  - Shaz - Goodreads

A fun enough read, but the mystery and its solution are not particularly interesting. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

13 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1996)

Science fiction and fantasy author Lois McMaster Bujold was born in Columbus, Ohio in 1949. After graduating from Ohio State University, she worked as a pharmacy technician at Ohio State University Hospitals. Her first short story was published in Twilight Zone Magazine in 1984 and her first three novels were published in 1986. She received the Nebula Award for Falling Free and The Mountains of Mourning and the Hugo Award for The Vor Game, Barrayar, Mirror Dance, The Mountains of Mourning, and Paladin of Souls. She also received the Locus award for Mirror Dance and Paladin of Souls, the Minnesota Book Award for Komarr, the Mythopoeic Award for The Curse of Chalion, and a Romantic Times 2003 Reviewers' Choice Award for Paladin of Souls. She is best known for her series featuring Miles Vorkosigan. She currently lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Bibliographic information