Comprising over 600 acres of woodlands, wetlands, and hilly terrain, Breakheart Reservation has expansive views that reach south to Boston, north to New Hampshire, and east to the Atlantic Ocean. What began as a parcel of common land awarded to new settlers arriving in Saugus in the early 1700s is today considered a gem in the Massachusetts state park system. In the 1890s, businessman Benjamin Johnson and two friends bought the land to create a private hunting retreat called Breakheart Hill Forest. The tranquil forest was catapulted into the limelight in 1900 when their caretaker was brutally murdered. Three decades later, Johnson and his partners sold the land to the state. It became a camp for the Depression-era Civilian Conservation Corps and was later transformed into a recreational area.
What people are saying - Write a review
We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.
apple Artemas Edmands barracks Benjamin Johnson Bess Parker Bill Travers Boston Boy Scouts Breakheart Hill Camp Breakheart Hill Farm Breakheart Hill Forest Breakheart Reservation built Camp Nihan caretaker CCC boys CCC camp Cedar Glen Golf Courtesy of DCR Courtesy of Edward Courtesy of Judith Courtesy of Lynn Courtesy of Malcolm Courtesy of Saugus DCR Archives Don Young Dunne Memorial Visitor Edward Patterson Jr entrance to Breakheart Ernest Parker Floating Bridge Pond Forest Street Forrest Howard Glen Golf Club Howlett’s Mill John Best John Gifford John Mahoney Judith Loubris McCarthy land Lower Pond Lynn Daily Item Lynn Historical Society Lynn Museum Malcolm Patterson Jr Massachusetts Memorial Visitor Center Micajah Clough Museum and Historical Native Americans Newhall parking Pearce Lake photograph below shows Photograph by Don pose roads Saugus Historical Society Saugus Iron Saugus River sawmill Six Hundred Acres trails Wakefield Daily Item Woodland period