Acts of worship: seven stories

Front Cover
Kodansha International, 1989 - Literary Collections - 205 pages
46 Reviews
The first comprehensive collection in English of the controversial Japanese writer's short fiction includes stories from throughout his career, dealing with love and sexuality, the union of mind and body, and other themes

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Acts of Worship: Seven Stories

User Review  - Alor Deng - Goodreads

What is there to say about Mishima that I haven't already stated? The man was the apotheosis of genius. A prose writer who wrote with the observational skills of a poet. The mundane to him is given a ... Read full review

Review: Acts of Worship: Seven Stories

User Review  - Goodreads

In Mishima a cigarette is never just a cigarette. Read full review

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

About the author (1989)

Yukio Mishima, the pseudonym for Hiraoka Kimitake, was born in Tokyo in 1925. His work covers many styles: poetry, essays, modern Kabuki ja Noh drama, and novels. Among his masterpieces are The Temple of the Golden Pavilion, and the four-volume novel Sea of Fertility, which outlines the Japanese experience in the 20th century. Each of the four volumes in this series has a distinct title--Spring Snow, Runaway Horses, The Temple of Dawn, and Five Signs of a God's Decay--and they were published over a six-year period, from 1965-1970. Mishima's plays include Tenth Day Chrysanthemum, and the Kabuki piece The Moon Like a Drawn Bow. Although Mishima was been nominated three times for the Nobel Prize for Literature, he never received it. Nevertheless, he is considered by many critics as one of the most important Japanese novelists of the 20th century. Yukio Mishima died by his own hand in 1970, committing seppuku (ritual disembowelment).

Bibliographic information