Bite: A vivid and shocking vampire novel

Front Cover
Headline, Apr 12, 2012 - Fiction - 366 pages
4 Reviews

What do you do when a vampire comes knocking?

Bite is a thrilling adventure of horror, vampires and old flames, from the master of the macabre Richard Laymon. Perfect for fans of Stephen King and Joe Hill.

When Sam's ex-girlfriend Cat arrives at his door, he can't believe his eyes. It's been a long time, but he's never forgotten her. But before the night is over, Cat will be lying face down on the bed, acting as bait, and Sam will be hiding in the wardrobe with a hammer in one hard and a wooden stake in the other. They won't have long to wait. The vampire is coming.

What readers are saying about Bite:

'I can honestly say that this book is brilliant, nay, a masterpiece... You can really hear, smell and feel everything that is happening. Laymon writes characters that are among the most believable, three-dimensional and exciting ever written'

'Very addictive and suspenseful with a generous portion of Laymon's usual sense of humour'

'Bite is pure Laymon - great characters, a terrific storyline and a surprising ending'

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - NKSCF - LibraryThing

I was a little disappointed when, after seeing a vampire, the story went in an almost totally different way that--as a reviewer noted earlier--was a bit Tarantino-esque. However this is not a bad ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - mel-L-co0l-j - LibraryThing

what a delicious piece of pulp, this is! it's not at all what i expected -- a nasty, no-holds-barred modern-day vampire novel -- but it was better. Laymon is hit-and-miss for me, and he scored big ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Richard Laymon was born in Chicago in 1947 and grew up in California. Four of his books have been shortlisted for the Bram Stoker Award, which he won in 2001 with THE TRAVELLING VAMPIRE SHOW. Among his many acclaimed works of horror and suspense are THE STAKE, SAVAGE, AFTER MIDNIGHT and the four novels in the Beast House Chronicles: THE CELLAR, THE BEAST HOUSE, THE MIDNIGHT TOUR and FRIDAY NIGHT IN BEAST HOUSE. He died in February 2001.

Bibliographic information