Mr. Churchill's Secretary: A Maggie Hope Mystery

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Apr 3, 2012 - Fiction - 384 pages
62 Reviews
For fans of Jacqueline Winspear, Laurie R. King, and Anne Perry, Mr. Churchill’s Secretary captures the drama of an era of unprecedented challenge—and the greatness that rose to meet it.

London, 1940. Winston Churchill has just been sworn in, war rages across the Channel, and the threat of a Blitz looms larger by the day. But none of this deters Maggie Hope. She graduated at the top of her college class and possesses all the skills of the finest minds in British intelligence, but her gender qualifies her only to be the newest typist at No. 10 Downing Street. Her indefatigable spirit and remarkable gifts for codebreaking, though, rival those of even the highest men in government, and Maggie finds that working for the prime minister affords her a level of clearance she could never have imagined—and opportunities she will not let pass. In troubled, deadly times, with air-raid sirens sending multitudes underground, access to the War Rooms also exposes Maggie to the machinations of a menacing faction determined to do whatever it takes to change the course of history.

Ensnared in a web of spies, murder, and intrigue, Maggie must work quickly to balance her duty to King and Country with her chances for survival. And when she unravels a mystery that points toward her own family’s hidden secrets, she’ll discover that her quick wits are all that stand between an assassin’s murderous plan and Churchill himself.

In this daring debut, Susan Elia MacNeal blends meticulous research on the era, psychological insight into Winston Churchill, and the creation of a riveting main character,  Maggie Hope, into a spectacularly crafted novel.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
9
4 stars
32
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Olivermagnus - LibraryThing

British citizen Maggie Hope was raised in America, but when circumstances force her to return to England on the eve of World War II, she finds herself unable to leave until she can find someone to buy ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gypsysmom - LibraryThing

I really enjoyed this book set during World War II. If Bruce Willis was female and about 20 years younger I could see him in the role of Maggie Hope. The story is certainly action-packed. Maggie Hope ... Read full review

All 3 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
10
Section 3
20
Section 4
37
Section 5
47
Section 6
56
Section 7
64
Section 8
76
Section 21
215
Section 22
222
Section 23
226
Section 24
236
Section 25
246
Section 26
254
Section 27
263
Section 28
272

Section 9
83
Section 10
98
Section 11
111
Section 12
123
Section 13
134
Section 14
145
Section 15
155
Section 16
168
Section 17
177
Section 18
186
Section 19
192
Section 20
200
Section 29
279
Section 30
288
Section 31
304
Section 32
317
Section 33
324
Section 34
337
Section 35
346
Section 36
359
Section 37
361
Section 38
367
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Susan Elia MacNeal is the Barry Award–winning and Edgar, Dilys, and Macavity Award–nominated author of the Maggie Hope mysteries, including Mr. Churchill’s Secretary, Princess Elizabeth’s Spy, His Majesty’s Hope, and The Prime Minister’s Secret Agent. She lives in Park Slope, Brooklyn, with her husband and child.




From the Trade Paperback edition.

Bibliographic information