Salute the Dark

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, 2010 - Fiction - 480 pages
3 Reviews

The vampiric sorcerer Uctebri has at last got his hands on the Shadow Box and can finally begin his dark ritual - a ritual that the Wasp-kinden Emperor believes will grant him immortality - but Uctebri has his own plans both for the Emperor and the Empire.

The massed Wasp armies are on the march, and the spymaster Stenwold must see which of his allies will stand now that the war has finally arrived. This time the Empire will not stop until a black and gold flag waves over Stenwold's own home city of Collegium.

Tisamon the Weaponsmaster is faced with a terrible choice: a path that could lead him to abandon his friends and his daughter, to face degradation and loss, but that might possibly bring him before the Wasp Emperor with a blade in his hand - but is he being driven by Mantis-kinden honour, or manipulated by something more sinister?

What people are saying - Write a review

New Book

User Review  - johndc -

The series is mildly entertaining and this is the 4th book in it. Ive preordered the 5th from Overstock and will receive it when it comes out. Big discount by shopping on the O! Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lewispike - LibraryThing

This book feels like the end of a cycle. I'm please I saw it through but sadly won't be picking up the next book in the next cycle in this world if it does come. The setting is interesting, but the ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Adrian Tchaikovsky was born in Woodhall Spa, Lincolnshire before heading off to Reading to study psychology and zoology. For reasons unclear even to himself he subsequently ended up in law and has worked as a legal executive in both Reading and Leeds, where he now lives. Married, he is a keen live role-player and occasional amateur actor, has trained in stage-fighting, and keeps no exotic or dangerous pets of any kind, possibly excepting his son.

Salute the Dark is the fourth novel in the Shadows of the Apt series following Empire in Black and Gold, Dragonfly Falling and Blood of the Mantis.

Bibliographic information