Lucifer's Tears

Front Cover
Inspector Kari Vaara of Helsinki is thrown into a case that sees a beautiful young woman murdered in an apparent sadomasochistic attack... But his investigation leads to him coming up against a wall of silence that implicates the very highest levels of power. His previous case left Kari Vaara with a scarred face, chronic insomnia and a full body count's worth of ghosts. A year later, in Helsinki, and Kari is working the graveyard shift in the homicide unit. Kari is drawn into the murder-by-torture case of Iisa Filippov, the philandering wife of a Russian businessman. Her lover is clearly being framed and while Ivan Filippov's arrogance is highly suspicious, he's got friends in high places. Kari is sucked ever deeper and soon the past and present collide in ways no one could have anticipated... Discover the hottest new voice in Scandinavian crime-writing, perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PamV - LibraryThing

WOW WOW WOW!!!!!! This is book number 2 in the Inspectar Kari Vaara series and it was better than the first. James Thompson writes great stories. He lets you get to know all the characters of the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RDHawk6886 - LibraryThing

Read this book at the perfect time. 48 hours of snow followed by -40 degree temperatures crippled the Chicago area and created the perfect conditions for indulging in a Finnish thriller. The Inspector ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

James Thompson, eastern Kentucky born and raised, has lived in Finland for the past decade and currently makes his home in Helsinki with his wife. Before becoming a full-time writer, Thompson studied Swedish and Finnish, in which he is fluent, and worked as a bartender, bouncer, construction worker, photographer, rare coin dealer, and soldier.

Bibliographic information