The Shadow over Innsmouth: Short Story

Front Cover
Harper Collins, Sep 3, 2013 - Fiction - 25 pages
0 Reviews

While researching his family’s history in rural New England, Robert Olmstead stumbles upon the town of Innsmouth. As Robert spends the day there, he learns more about the place and becomes increasingly disturbed by what he hears. In the end, the truth will horrify him, and change his life forever.

“The Shadow Over Innsmouth” was the only one of H.P. Lovecraft’s stories to be published in a book and not a periodical during his lifetime. It has become an important part of the Cthulhu Mythos and influenced both film adaptations and video games. In 1994 an anthology named The Shadow Over Innsmouth was published featuring stories inspired by the Innsmouth lore written by various Lovecraftian authors.

HarperCollins brings great works of literature to life in digital format, upholding the highest standards in ebook production and celebrating reading in all its forms. Look for more titles in the HarperCollins short-stories collection to build your digital library.


What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

H.P. Lovecraft was an American author of short stories, poetry, scientific articles, and various other works. As a child, Lovecraft spent much of his time reading and writing, and developed a deep interest in science—astronomy in particular. At the age of nine Lovecraft created his first publication, The Scientific Gazette, and by sixteen was writing a monthly astronomy column for a local newspaper. In 1917 Lovecraft’s short story “Dagon” became the first of his fictional works to be professionally published, after which he published multiple works nearly every year until his death in 1937. He is best known for strange fiction and horror stories, as well as for being the originator of the Cthulhu mythos. Lovecraft’s most notable works include the short stories “The Call of Cthulhu,” “The Dunwich Horror,” and “The Colour out of Space,” and the novellas At the Mountain of Madness, and The Shadow over Innsmouth.

Bibliographic information