Ventus

Front Cover
Tom Doherty Associates, Nov 19, 2001 - Fiction - 512 pages

Ventus is a large-scale Hard SF adventure novel in the tradition of Larry Niven, Vernor Vinge, and Arthur C. Clarke. Karl Schroeder, a physicist and writer, is a winner of Canada's Aurora Award. His first novel was called the best first fantasy of the year by Science Fiction Chronicle, and now his first SF novel launches a major career in SF.

Young Jordan Mason, on the terraformed planet Ventus, has visions. Kidnapped by Calandria May--a human from offworld sent to investigate the AIs (the Winds) of Ventus--Jordan is desperate to find the meaning of his visions, desperate enough to risk calling down the Winds that destroy technology to protect the created environment, who descend and wreak havoc. As a result Jordan escapes from Calandria and sets out to discover his destiny on his own. Calandria and others, both human and AI, search for Jordan, who holds the key to catastrophe or salvation.

Ventus is an epic journey across a fascinating planet with a big mystery--why have the Winds fallen silent? It is one of the major, ambitious SF novels of the year and the international launch of an important new hard SF writer.



At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jakecasella - LibraryThing

Enjoyable, though long-winded. File next to Iain M. Banks. Seems like Schroeder really wants to talk about some heavy philosophical ideas, realized through AI/material science--and that was the best part of the book. Wish he would have just come out with it. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DLMorrese - LibraryThing

I had seen some of Karl Schroeder’s books in the library before, but I never picked one up until now. I’m glad I finally did. This isn’t a great book. There are weak spots. The prose, grammar, and ... Read full review

Contents

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2001)

Karl Schroeder lives in Toronto, Ontario.

Bibliographic information